I think I like who I am becoming.

I think it’s almost been three years that I’ve struggled with who I am and what I want to do with my life. Especially starting college and even halfway into my second year I’ve been struggling with it. I guess you could say one of my biggest flaws would be intensely judging where I’m at in my life, and worrying what my future will be like. (probably the same for a lot of college students.) I think that everyone else in the world has believed in me more than myself which makes absolutely NO sense! Recently I’ve had so many inspiring moments that I now know that I’m okay, and things will be okay. 

Today in institute we began to talk about President Uchtdorf’s talk, “Of Regrets and Resolutions.” Our teacher had us list 3-4 things that we would fight for, even if it meant we had to die for. After going around the room, it was obvious everyone had written things that were eternal priorities. Most everyone wrote things similar to the list: 1. Family/friends 2. Testimony of the gospel 3. Agency.

Before even allowing us to start reading the talk, our teacher promised us that as long as lesser priorities stay less than those top 3 or 4 priorities, we will have no regrets.

If only I could quote the same words he used, because it was so profound and hit me so hard. I wouldn’t say I’m the type to cry in institute (I know, that’s a huge surprise) but this lesson just reallllly was meant for me. How amazing is that promise? It’s so simple!

If I keep those 3 priorities my most important things, I will have no regrets, and I will have no reason to worry about my future.

I’m so grateful for spiritual Sundays that make my week so amazing. I’m grateful for inspired institute teachers. I don’t think he knows how much impact his lessons have on my life personally, but I’m thankful my teacher is in tune with the spirit enough to teach just what I need every week.

Happy Monday!

-Lex

a41d94c1390203709e7b09e74b1bd9f9

Leave a Reply

