The Lord Will Qualify Me

The Lord did indeed call me in my weakness. But with faith, He will also qualify me for His work.

Unlike the world, when I do something that is in accordance to what my Heavenly Father wants me to do, He helps me fit the part. Rather than the other, where you must fit the part before you can do anything. It’s interesting that to get a job, you must have experience. Which to me makes absolutely no sense. You can’t receive experience until you experience it, right? If it were up to the worlds standards for me to go on a mission, I’d never be able to go. I’ve never walked door to door every day for 18 months before. I’ve never woken up at 6:00 AM only to follow an exact schedule for 18 months. I’ve never lived far from home just to be transferred every few weeks to live with a different girl every time. I’ve for sure never ridden a bike in a skirt before! It’s literally one of the last things I want to do. I’m just thankful Heavenly Father calls me to the work, not the president.

In my favorite General Conference talk, The Challenge to Become, Elder Oaks says,

“In contrast to the institutions of the world, which teach us to know something, the gospel of  Jesus Christ challenges us to become something.”

The world wants us to know something. They want us to know exactly how to file important papers. They want us to know how to do the things a business man would know how to do, even before we do it. The Lord wants us to become something. He wants to become the business man that understands why he is filing those papers in a certain way. He wants us to become the business man that understands why it’s important and does it because he is a business man. Not just because he knows how to do it, or is just following the motions because the boss told him too. The Lord wants the business man’s thoughts and actions to be for real intent, because they love what their doing and they understand it’s important. Not just because he knows how.

Maybe that’s a crazy, crazy way to look at it, but it makes it more simple to me. Heavenly Father isn’t setting me up to fail. He isn’t making me know how to do all the missionary things before I was called or even now as I prepare to go. He has called me, and with my faithfulness and His saving grace, I will be qualified. It is scary though. Like I said, I’ve never been a missionary. It’s hard just preparing for the MTC (the place where you go to for real prepare) to become a missionary. It’s hard to get through my head that I need to become a missionary. Right now, just as a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I don’t need to study just because missionaries do that sort of thing. I need to become one.

In Brad Wilcox’s book, The Continuous Conversion, He talks about the same thing. He explains it as learning not earning. Rather than knowing/earning (racking up points from the boss because you know how to file papers), it’s about becoming/learning (to be a business man and understanding the importance of becoming that person.)  He says,

“I take one day at a time, one hour at a time, and sometimes even one minute at a time, but I don’t give up because I know my efforts will pay off. Not because of all I’m earning, but because of all I’m learning (or becoming.) Earning can lead to pressure, competition, and even rebellion and apathy. Learning can lead to humility, patience, cooperation, growth, and enthusiasm.”

What I love about preparing for a mission is the fact that I know my efforts will pay off. I feel my Savior teaching me, lifting me up, and qualifying me. All though I’m far from becoming a 100% qualified missionary (or qualified human being), I don’t feel pressure, competition, rebellion or apathy. I can tell Heavenly Father is teaching me humility, patience and growth even though sometimes all I want to do is resist.
I love being a part of this gospel. I love that we are humbled just by knowing we don’t have all the power we think we do, and Christ will show us how to gain the power He has, and become like He is. We’re not expected to be perfect paper filers before actually getting the job. We’re expected to follow the steps that Christ has shown us, so that we can slowly become perfect business men or women.
I’m not going to be the best missionary because I’ve hit my total amount in brownie points from attending the temple or reading Preach My Gospel, I’m going to qualify as a Missionary of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints because my Savior is helping me learn how to become one.
I think this hymn sums up my feelings exactly,
“So trusting my all to thy tender care,
And knowing thou lovest me,
I’ll do thy will with a heart sincere:
I’ll be what you want me to be.”
If He can teach a 14 year old boy how to restore the gospel fully, I know without a doubt He can teach me how to be a missionary. I know that because I felt the spirit testify to me it’s what He wants me to do, and I know He wouldn’t have me do anything I’m not capable of learning through the spirit.
Although most people would think, (and I DID think before I got my call) that, “It’s just a mission. It’s only 1 1/2- 2 years. It really isn’t that big of a deal Lexi. You really should relax about it”  I’ve come to realize that it is a big deal. This is the Lords work. I wasn’t expecting to be called, and in reality I wasn’t exactly hoping for it either. But I can’t deny the spirit I felt that told me this is my next step in life, and even though it will be difficult, especially for me (the homesick queen) I know that it is the work of God, and I have been called. I echo Elder Anderson’s strong testimony,
“I have heard President Monson say, “Whom the Lord calls, the Lord qualifies.” I know this is true, and it gives me hope looking beyond my own inadequacies. I know that when we are on the Lord’s errand, he will be with us, he will strengthen us, he will build our capacities. I have experienced it. I have felt his lifting Spirit. In the months and years ahead, I will need him so very much.”
– (The future) Sister Glauser The Second
(LOLZ guys I’m going to sign every letter home, “Sister Glauser II”)
 cropped-lexi4.jpg
Leave a Reply

