The Gospel of Christ

Well, I’m back! I’ve been home for about 8 weeks now and it’s unreal. And to answer the common questions; YES, I do miss South Carolina, it gets way hot and cold there, it is weird “adjusting” because I never want to adjust, It’s nice being with my family, and hopefully one day I’ll go back and visit. Also, I don’t know what I’m studying in school yet.. but if I did I would probably say like Art and Communications.

Since being home, I’ve been trying to figure out how to be a better human, disciple, daughter, sister, etc. Almost like I was going to invent a way to do it best.. The good news is, it’s LITERALLY THE SAME THING I just taught so many other people. It’s the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

It’s so natural for us to sometimes feel empty, dim, insecure, stressed, lonely, and many other negative feelings, (hopefully not all at the same time eh)  but it’s so so cool because we have such a LOVING Heavenly Father who knows us. Of course he does. He created us! He’s our Father. And because He knows and loves us, He sent his Son to Earth to Atone for us, and provide a way for us to feel HAPPY, full, bright, secure, at peace and loved. (The Gospel is the way fyi)

I’ve always tried to live the Gospel, (Having Faith in Christ, Repenting, making and KEEPING covenants, taking the Sacrament, keeping the commandments, etc.) but this week I really tested things out. For the first time since being home I felt some of the same “empty” feelings I felt before my mission that led me to go on a mission. But this time, rather than spending MORE time on my phone, or making art, or trying to find something to suppress the feeling like I would have before, I turned to the Book of Mormon and prayer. I told Heavenly Father how I was feeling, and how I didn’t want to feel it, or turn to the wrong things. Then I opened up my book and started to read about the good old sons of Mosiah. [check the chapters out.. Alma 14-17] THE GOSPEL IS REAL Y’ALL. I’ve known it, I’ve lived it, I’ve loved it.. but I know it and live it and love it even more this week. Studying and praying and living the way the Savior taught “fills” us. It makes us whole. I don’t know how it fills us.. but I feel filled. And it helps us come to know our Savior.  I LOVE THIS QUOTE;

The most important thing we can do—young or old—is develop a personal relationship with Jesus Christ. If we do, we will always be comfortable with ourselves. Any questions of self-esteem and self-worth will diminish, and we will have a quiet confidence that will see us through any trial. And the Savior’s promise to us is “Fear not, little children, for you are mine, and I have overcome the world” (D&C 50:41).

Those are things everyone struggles with today, and they can be overcome with gaining a relationship with the One who loves us most. How #blessed are we huh? I seriously believe, with my whole being, that coming to know the Savior IS the most important thing. More important than school, family, (because it’s what holds a family together) trends, personal wants or desires, friends, Instagram, Kit Kats, real cats, and iPhones. It’s the most important thing to everyone. Not just Mormons, or Christians. It’s for everyone. So try it. Find out for yourself already. Don’t hate on what ya don’t know.

Know it, live it, and come to love it for yourself.
Happy Wednesday

-Alexis

Leave a Reply

